GENERAL REGULATIONS AND PROCEDURES

Scholarships are awarded for the purpose of attending a specific institution and may not be transferred to any other institution except by prior authorization of the scholarship board.

Funds awarded to students are sent directly to the approved college or university.

Please check our website for due dates on all information, forms and documents required of initial applicants or of renewal applicants. The transcript must be official and must include grades of the most recent semester or quarter of attendance.

The scholarship awarded to a student will be revoked if the student fails to maintain the status of a full-time student in good standing, is placed on probation or suspension, or if the financial circumstances of the student no longer requires funds from this Foundation.

AN APPLICANT IS SOLELY
RESPONSIBLE FOR MEETING ALL
DEADLINES

PERSONS ELIGIBLE TO APPLY FOR A TY COBB SCHOLARSHIP

Undergraduate students who are residents of the State of Georgia, are U.S. citizens and have demonstrated financial need, and have completed at least 30 semester or 45 quarter hours of academic credits with an average of "B" or higher in an accredited college are eligible to apply for Ty Cobb scholarships. Students with higher academic averages and the greatest need will be given priority. You must be a high school graduate to apply.

Professional students pursuing MD/DO or DMD/DDS degrees who are residents of Georgia, are U.S. citizens and have demonstrated financial need are eligible to apply for Ty Cobb scholarships.

Renewal of Scholarships

Renewal scholarships are awarded to fulltime undergraduate students, generally defined by someone taking 12 or more credit hours per semester or as otherwise defined by the academic institution and so noted in the application, or to professional students pursuing a MD/DO or DMD/DDS degree who are fulltime.

INFORMATION TO BE FILED BY APPLICANTS

The following information, forms and documents must be filed with the Ty Cobb Educational Foundation in order for an applicant to be considered for a scholarship. Please check our website for due dates on all forms and information. College transcripts must be official and must include grades of the most recent semester or quarter of attendance.

NEW APPLICANTS

A completed application form including a section stating the specific circumstances which cause you to request financial assistance and a copy of your tax return.

A letter of recommendation from a faculty member, academic dean or advisor.

Official transcripts of all college studies including fall semester or quarter grades.

RENEWAL APPLICANTS

A completed renewal application form and a copy of your most recent tax return.

A letter of recommendation from a faculty member, academic dean or advisor.

An official transcript of all courses attempted during the current academic year, including spring semester or quarter grades.

THE TY COBB EDUCATIONAL FOUNDATION

The Ty Cobb Educational Foundation was established by the late Tyrus R. Cobb for the purpose of assisting capable and deserving residents of Georgia in completing their college education. Foundation scholarships are granted to qualified students for the purpose of attending an accredited college or university full time. Most scholarships are granted for a period of one academic year and may be renewed for one or more additional years. Awards are granted to undergraduate students beyond the freshman year and to professional students pursuing MD/DO or DMD/DDS degrees.

All scholarships are granted without subsequent obligation of the student to the Foundation, however, former recipients and others are urged to make contributions to the Ty Cobb Educational Foundation when the circumstances permit. Although scholarships are granted only to students who are residents of Georgia and U.S. citizens, a student may be awarded a scholarship to attend an accredited college or university in Georgia or another state.

TY COBB EDUCATIONAL FOUNDATION P. O. Box 937 Sharpsburg, GA 30277

E-Mail: tycobb@mindspring.com

Web Site: www.tycobbfoundation.com

Tyrus R. Cobb 1886 – 1961

Scholarship Board

Francis J. Tedesco, M.D., Chairman
Cathy Cox, JD
Henry M. Huckaby
Valerie A. Hepburn, Ph.D
Tricia P. Chastain
Cathy Scott, Scholarship Coordinator

Former Scholarship Board Members

Daniel C. Elkin (1953–1958)

Harmon W. Caldwell (1953–1977)

Fred W. Rankin (1953-1954)

Mrs. Tyrus R. Cobb (1953-1954)

Albert B. Chandler (1954-1960)

Earl Combs (1954-1961)

Charles S. Kennedy (1954-1963)

H. Prentice Miller (1959-1985)

Merritt E. Hoag (1959-1994)

S. Walter Martin (1963-2000)

Harry S. Downs (1977-2013)

Derrell C. Roberts (1984-2002)

Walter Y. Murphy (1987 – 2010)

Edward D. Jackson, Jr. (2003-2005)

Bill Gerspacher (2006 – 2015)

Sherman R Day (2009-2018)

